Header-Image

Welcome to BEWUCHSMERKMALE.DE

Aerial photographs have fascinated people since the beginning of aviation. Viewed from the air, new perspectives open up and contexts that are not contexts that cannot be seen on the ground. This also applies to archaeology in particular. But not only preserved monuments and excavations can be documented by aerial photography, but also ground interventions by human hands that are no longer recognisable above ground can be seen under certain constellations, which can usually only be detected from the air. This is the task of aerial archaeology. Since the beginning of the 1980s, aerial flights have been systematically carried out in Germany in order to record previously unknown archaeological monuments and thus protect them from uncontrolled destruction by construction measures.

The advent of remote-controlled multicopters and drones at the beginning of this century made the dream of flying come true even for non-pilots. These can be used to create impressive aerial photographs. This page now deals with the use of these multicopters in the field of archaeology, especially in Bavaria. Little by little, information on the technology and equipment of multicopters, on the legal framework, on possible areas of application and on the training of so-called crop marks will be compiled. Of course, many example images are also available.

The English version of this website was translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version). The author welcomes any suggestions for improvement.

News

29.01.2022 The contents of this website are now also available in English.
31.10.2021  The range of information has been extended by a few pages. For example, there is now a page listing all image publications to date. Furthermore, the aerial photograph findings of another villa rustica and an early medieval burial ground are presented.
12.06.2021  In contrast to previous years, the spring of 2021 was wet and cold in Bavaria, so that so far hardly any cropmarks have developed, or only after a considerable delay. A few current examples of nevertheless visible ground monuments are briefly presented on the page of sample photographs from the year 2021.
11.08.2020  The information page on IR photography has been extended by an impressive comparative image. In addition, a new page on maize has been added to the plant science section.
14.07.2020  I have summarised my experiences with the DJI Mavic Mini drone on a separate page.
18.05.2020  The page with aerial photo examples of a villa rustica has been extended with recent photos from this year.

Header-Image

Willkommen auf BEWUCHSMERKMALE.DE

Luftbilder faszinieren die Menschen schon seit Beginn der Luftfahrt. Aus der Luft betrachtet, ergeben sich neue Perspektiven und es erschließen sich Zusammenhänge, die am Boden so nicht zu erkennen sind. Dies betrifft auch besonders die Archäologie. Aber nicht nur erhaltene Denkmäler und Ausgrabungen lassen sich per Luftbild dokumentieren, sondern auch oberirdisch nicht mehr zu erkennende Bodeneingriffe durch Menschenhand zeigen sich unter bestimmten Konstellationen, die aber zumeist nur aus der Luft aufzuspüren sind. Dies ist die Aufgabe der Luftbildarchäologie. Seit Anfang der 1980er Jahre werden in Deutschland systematisch Befliegungen mit Flugzeugen vorgenommen, um bisher unbekannte Bodendenkmäler zu erfassen und sie damit vor der unkontrollierten Zerstörung durch Baumaßnahmen zu bewahren.

Durch das Aufkommen von ferngesteuerten Multikopter und Drohnen Anfang dieses Jahrhunderts wurde der Traum vom Fliegen auch für Nicht-Piloten wahr. Mit diesen lassen sich eindrucksvolle Luftaufnahmen erstellen. Diese Seite beschäftigt sich nun mit dem Einsatz dieser Multikoptern im Bereich der Archäologie, vor allem in Bayern. Nach und nach werden Informationen zur Technik und Ausstattung von Multikoptern, zu den rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen, zu möglichen Einsatzgebieten und zur Ausbildung sogenannter Bewuchsmerkmale zusammengestellt. Natürlich sind auch viele Beispielbilder abrufbar.

News

29.01.2022 Die Inhalte dieser Webseite werden ab sofort auch in Englisch angeboten.
31.10.2021 Das Informationsangebot wurde um einige Seiten erweitert. So gibt es nun eine Seite, die alle bisherigen Bildveröffentlichungen auflistet. Weiterhin werden die Luftbildbefunde einer weiteren villa rustica und eines frühmittelalterlichen Gräberfeldes vorgestellt.
12.06.2021 Das Frühjahr 2021 war im Gegensatz zu den vorangegangenen Jahren in Bayern feucht und kalt, so dass sich bisher kaum oder deutlich verspätet Bewuchsmerkmale ausgebildet haben. Ein paar aktuelle Beispiele von trotzdem sichtbaren Bodendenkmälern werden auf der Seite der Beispielaufnahmen aus dem Jahr 2021 kurz vorgestellt.
11.08.2020 Die Informationsseite zur IR-Fotographie wurde um eine beeindruckende Vergleichsaufnahme erweitert. Außerdem wurde eine neue Seite zum Mais im Bereich Pflanzenkunde angelegt.
14.07.2020 Meine Erfahrungen mit der Mini-Drohne DJI Mavic Mini habe ich auf einer gesonderten Seite zusammengefasst.
18.05.2020 Die Seite mit Luftbildbeispielen zu einer villa rustica wurde um aktuelle Aufnahmen aus diesem Jahr erweitert.